Community approved activities?

(Taliyah Riraille) #1

So, a phenomenon I’ve noticed since I started playing a few months back is that the established community (see: players who’ve been active for 2+ years) have a tendency to more heavily approve of specific activities. Obviously newbros who dive straight into PVP are loved by the community, but also those who get into wormhole exploration and even escalation hunting gets less negative talk than mission running/mining and there’s of course more than a few people who speak rather negatively about renters and vexor krabs.

Matching up with this observation perfectly is also the fact that newbros (myself included) tend to enjoy those activities more than highsec mining, mission running or ratting behind 10 layers of intel bots safely in the shadow of GSF (or various other such entities).

The common thread I’ve noticed about the activities that tend to be more approved of, is that they have a tangible chance of player interaction (typically the violent kind). Even players who aren’t typically interested in PVP prefer activities where there’s a tangible chance of it happening (even if it’s just so they can run away from it like me). Obviously there’s exceptions to this little observation of mine wandering around hi-sec giving CODE, Vendetta and others juicy screenshots of rage on a day to day basis, but mostly people want this game to feel multiplayer.

TLDR: people are drawn to activities where they stand a chance of competing with others, PVE or PVP based.

(Nora Maldoran) #2

I agree to everything mentioned.
But why is there a “?” in the title?

(Erika Mizune) #3

I think it depends really on who responds to a particular playstyle.

As for PvP, it’s what Eve revolves around for the most part. Even sitting in high-sec you can get killed by another player. It’s the nature of Eve.