Determining Economies of scale

Hello everyone,

I’m new to manufacturing and industry in general. I know what I want to make but I’ve noticed that there are economies of scale that begin to appear when you perform many runs of a single blueprint at once (i.e an item that needs 7 of component A for 1 run will only need 13 of them for 2 runs)

For the sake of logistics and calculating profits, is there a way to determine exactly how many components i will need for a set amount of runs, ideally in a way that I can integrate in the excel sheet I’ve been working on ?

Each component can be different so it’s not easy. Classes are ruffly the same I would say but then sizes are not within a class. Plus your skills, station bonuses and a few other factors also change things.

I think Fuzzworks has a great tool to help calculate things and there are other 3rd party tools/sites out there also.

So let’s just say that you have a ME 10 blueprint, and you want to make a widget that requires five doodads as an input. The ME will reduce the doodad requirement by 10%, so you’ll need 4.5 doodad, but you can’t have half a doodad so the requirements round up to 5 doodads. If you make two widgets, you need 10 doodads, and the doodad requirement is reduced by 10%, so you only need 9 doodads for the entire job.

TL;DR: Decimal material requirements can exist but will round up to the nearest whole number.

What I do is to pretend to run the job and set the quantity to 1000 and then check levels manually and adjust my multipliers on my spreadsheet accordingly.

Rounding is an issue when small batching yes…

Have a look at Fuzzworks.
A very useful calculating tool that I normally use - there’s a few things I’d like to be able to do, but that’s a coding project waiting for time to finish it.

But you are right, there are efficiencies of working at scale, but remember that you still have to have sell them.