Directional Scanner for low/null sec salvaging

Hello everyone. I’m kinda new in the game but I managed to figure out some basics. I’ve been doing low sec salvaging for 2 days now and I actually dont know how to use d-scanner properly. I wanna see all the wrecks and enemy ships etc. I dont wanna see any useless information in my d-scanner tab. Can you guys help me out and explain the d-scanner? Thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

There is an option in the Directional Scanner settings that tells it only to report the same classes of items as currently selected in the active Overview. That is very good for decluttering the d-scan, but does require you to set up the overview correctly.
However, small items such as wrecks, will not appear on the D-scanner whatever the settings - it is designed to detect ships, not lumps of cold debris. Nor can scan probes detect them. The nearest way to finding wrecks is to look for the mission runner’s ship while he is still in the mission (using scan probes) and go in afterwards to clean up. Being aware of course that looting his wrecks rather than just salvaging will give you a timer during which the loot owner can attack you.

Alternatively, ask if someone would be happy with you tagging along as they rat or mission run clearing the wrecks for them. I’ve had people do that for me in the past - either gratis or for a small consideration.

1 Like

That’s incorrect. Wrecks will show up on D-scan. You simply can’t probe them down.

3 Likes

As @Terak_Romaller said, you can set your dscan up to be permanent (and uncluttered) tool. I prefer it to be flexible. However, I am lazy and still only use the in-built filters.

As @Sinjin_Pava said, if you select the “loot” filter at top right hand side of dscan window you will see all wrecks in system but cannot scan them down.