ECM is terrible

Debate why this mechanic is still in the game, why it isn’t a highslot module and why it has been allowed to shut off the victims ship despite nerfs spanning back over a decade in order to make it more reasonable.

As an ecm pilot myself I hate this mechanic, 100% or 0%, no middle ground, no counterplay. Fit an ECCM or have drones on auto aggress, don’t have those? Get cheesed.

2 Likes

Looks like you listed the counterplay. Whats the counter module to a warp scrambler or web? The main issue I see is the people feel helpless when ecmed. When your webbed and scramed by superior numbers you often accept death as the enemy claws through your shields, armor and hull. When ecmed though, you may get the false hope that “If i wasn’t jammed I could have won…”.

6 Likes

Let me tell you why the scram/web argument doesn’t work: AB and MWD do something meaningful outside of being scrammed/webbed/pointed.

What does a sebo or scan amp do outside of being ECM’d? Let you lock faster? Is that really a valuable proposition when talking about most combat scenarios where getting a fast lock doesn’t materially change whether you are IN a fight or not?

I don’t want this to be vacuous ranting. I want a meaningful change to ECM to reduce it from UTTER ■■■■■■■■ to something that requires a more material investment from a group than undock griffin and jam fighters ftw lol 1mil ship > 2bil carrier.

This is my proposal
ECM now reduces max target locks on target. This is a sample of how it would look like
Blue jams: 2,1,1,1 = 2 lost max targets for caldari sensors, 1 for others. Ship bonuses improve this
Green: 1,2,1,1
Red: 1,1,2,1
Yellow: 1,1,1,2
Omni: 1.5,1.5,1.5,1.5 = no improvement for unbonused ships, bonused ships will have higher effective jams

How do ships calculate bonuses for jams applied? Say bonuses = 20% per level. Therefore a griffin at all 5 gets
*Blue jams: 4,2,2,2
etc
*Omni: 3,3,3,3
Per jammer.