Eris needs more base armor and Sig reduction

I’ve been flying dictors as my primary ship for over five years. Each dictor has a major advantage over the others — except the Eris. Right now the Eri’s only major advantage is being half-cost.

However, since it is half-cost it is the dictor that I usually fly, because 90% of the time this dictor does the exact same job as the others.

That being said, my experience with this dictor has allowed me notice two slight advantages over the other dictors. It can be fit to be the fastest and/or most agile dictor with a 8k shield tank and 75mm rails or it can be fit to still be the fastest dictor with scram and blasters doing over 600 dps (750+ dps can be achieved).

So, the Eris has a speed and dps advantage — but only if it fits no tank. It’s speed and dps advantages are not significant enough to make this the choice interdictor for the majority of pilots.

I’ve thought of many things to improve the Eris, but concluded that all of them would make the Eris OP compared to the other dictors, except the armor bonus. Here are the things I considered:

Increase Eris Base Armor and Reduce Sig and remove astro and armor Rig drawbacks.

Since this ship has it’s advantage in speed over the other dictors, this change would go along with it’s “slight advantage” and make it a large advantage, which is precisely what the Eris needs to make it viable choice among the other three dictors who also have their large distinct advantages.

The reason for the removal of rig drawbacks is so this ship can fit a speed tank and rigs without eating up it’s own armor or conversely fit armor rigs without gimping its speed. Regardless of how the eris is fit (speed over armor or vice versa) I would point the Eris towards resistance tanking instead of buffer tanking since armor buffs also drastically inhibit speed.

I have yet to determine if it should have an active armor rep bonus.

2 Likes

How about no?