EVE Online Retention

Greetings,

Quick Intro - I’m fairly new to the game. I remember when i was a teenager i always obsessed over wanting to play EVE Online but could never get a good enough computer to run it lol. Anyway, 17-18 years later i caught a glimpse of the name and here i am, addicted and loving it. I’m in the business of community development and operations.

The first thing i noticed with EVE is that i knew right off the bat retention was going to be a problem, meaning i was going to have to fight the want to give up because of plenty of things. Now, correct me if i’m wrong, but i do believe EVE Online should have a much larger player base than this, 18 years later and i notice some odd things that a high schooler would be like wtf? Now let’s go through them and the reason there important enough for me to type paragraphs about all of this.

1 ) So our navbar on the left of the game, takes some getting used to for sure and that’s the first thing that made me want to give up. In a world that is so in-depth as EVE the “home” navigation should be improved because when you get lost trying to do anything, you truly get lost and when you see a bunch of random buttons you just have to go through it’s enough to click that uninstall button.

I understand the tutorial and all of the that, but it’s 2021, and many people still skip tutorials to self learn which is a very vast group that can’t be ignored.

2 ) Corps/Guilds are becoming a thing again as of recent years it seems and thank god. With that said, customization within Corporations needs to be beefed up. Some basics we should be able to:

-Name our wallets.
-Name our divisions (maybe we can and i missed?)
-Re-order and STICK/SAVE rank names in our preferred order within Title Management areas.

Much more customization when it comes to titles/ranks anything that has a title for itself. Maybe just put restrictions on certain names to prevent public displayed sillyness?