Face capture

I’m still new at modeling, work in progress

I think it would be super cool for CCP to either allow us to export models easily and release in house face capture tech

Or add face capture feature to character portrait screen.

The first would allow players to stream as their avatar and create content with their avatars (think clear skies)

The second would just allow basic green screen recordings, which could be used for a variety of purposes (alliance sotas/training vids)

Also this could help ccp monetize avatars since characters currently are sort of irrelevant. Naturally it would have to be disabled on test server (where all clothes are buy able for 100 isk)

I think this is a unique way to promote the game and even provide the sorely lacking cinematics and rp element eve is missing.

Anyway they have the tech, just needs to be implemented.

4 Likes

I second this, getting into UE4 and using the character for propaganda or just cinematic kinda stuff would be amazing and using it to stream as our character would be so OP.

2 Likes

2 Likes

WIS
webcam facetracking
AI to translate your eyebrow / mouth / features into avatar’s features
???
Profit!

2 Likes

This thread needs more love

1 Like

indeed

Latest Scope video has little something in the end, starting at 2:37.

Alton Haveri, the reporter, is a 38 year old character in game.

Hilmar tweeted something about it.

This is a horrible idea.

People with mental illnesses will love this. They’ll claim to want this for “immersion”, but what “immersion” here means from an outside perspective is that they want to lose themselves even further into the game.

And then you shoot them down. Think about the deeper consequences of such an idea. Besides, what about all the horribly ugly looking people you’ll then find in the game? There will be people made fun of and harrassed for the pure uglyness they’re wearing on their skull, potentiall driving people into killing themselves.

DO YOU REALLY WANT THAT?

No.