Free Skins for Obscure ships

I’ve been playing EVE for over 19 years. Over that time, I have accrued billions of isk-worth of ships. Why is it that out of all of those ships, I never get a free skin for even one of them? I’ve got every one of the Marauders, every battleship, force recon, interceptor, & HAC and you’d think out of 365 days in a year of free skins, at least one would be for a ship that I have. I’m not going to start flying Punishers because I was given a free skin for it at login. Give us something cool, CCP!

5 Likes

I’m sure it’s probably happened at some point, but I don’t recall ever getting a free SKIN that I actually used. And I remember there were at least a couple times where I got a free SKIN I was already licensed for, so the free one was pointless. They should just issue a voucher or something (free Interceptor SKIN, etc.) so players can pick what they want from a range of available options.

5 Likes

That’s a good idea.

Something free isn’t good enough? And by being a vet I’m sure buying the said skin on the market wouldn’t hurt. I feel the login rewards are more tailored for new players, more than anything else, just like the daily campaign for skill points.

Something free—that is also useful—is always nice. But if you have no use for the thing you’ve received, it doesn’t represent a value, even if it was free.

Vets like free SP, too. And while I don’t do cartwheels over getting free boosters, they (sometimes) have value. But noob or vet, the problem with giving away random SKINs is that unlike SP, SKINs are highly subjective. Two people can look at the same SKIN, one might think it’s gorgeous, and the other might find it hideous. And even if the first player likes the aesthetics, if they don’t (or can’t yet) fly that hull—again, it’s of little to no value to the player.