Ganker Repellant?

This isn’t a cry post, just a newbro’s question about fitting.

ADHD version: Is there conventional wisdom regarding fitting that will at least give you a shot at escaping a gank attempt?

I’m still fairly new to EVE, and fitting is a spot in which I lack any sense of expertise. I know that ganking is the law of the land in New Eden, and if I lose a ship, fine. I’m a good sport and I’ll live.

I’ve got a little over a million SP, having only spent serious time playing over the last few months. I spend most of my time in hi/losec, usually fly a frigate or destroyer depending on what I’m doing. I can fly cruisers, though I’m not really comfortable with how they handle yet and don’t have the skills trained that would make them really count for something yet. I know the golden rules, but every now and again, I still get podded.

Given my relatively low SP, I know there’s only so much that I can do, and if somebody who’s a ten year veteran of the game sets their sights on me, I’m just boned no matter what I do. But my questions is this: are there best practices for fitting, especially regarding frigs/destroyers/miners to at least give you a chance at escaping a ganker in the typical handful of seconds before you’re turned into red paste? Are there “must-have” modules or rigs that anyone who doesn’t want to eat a bullet sandwich should never leave home without?

Ganking is more of a highsec term. They try and kill you before Concord kills them. So if you are in a mining ship you want more hit points and resistance to damage to survive till Concord gets there.

If you fly any ship into lowsec you are a open target for pvp. So it’s more about being smart about when and where you fly. You can scout a system first to check for gate camps, or don’t fly alone. There are mods that can mess with target locks but that won’t always work.

2 Likes

Fair callout. The two were still synonymous to me.