Info about warping and gankers

Hi! super noob here, started last week.
I have a few questions about my safety and how to avoid gankers ( or at least not be a super easy target ).
So far I didn’t have any “lucky” chance to meet any of those gentlemen but I’m pretty sure they are willing to meet me soon or later.

I read something before posting and basically, this is what I understood:

1. There is not “safely” against those gankers, no matter what high-security sector you are in, they will kill you if you are a good prey.
  2. Don’t bother to install any defense ( tank ) modules on a weak ship ( Venture ) it will just increase your loss.
  3. They attack mostly in the proximity of stargates

Are these statements true? would you add any additional important info/tips?

So…I started to move my feet in the mining world and I kind of enjoying it, a bit boring solo mining but I have great plans for the future :wink:
I figured out that if I move a full cargo ( 5000 m3 ) of compressed material 25 jumps away from where I am at the moment, I could double my profit ( almost make a triple profit ).

We are talking about several million, of course, this makes me a dream target for gankers.
A weak Venture traveling across several 0.5 sectors full of compressed material… what a juicy prey…

Let’s say that I’m willing to accept the risk, it is a 50% reward bet, you double everything or you lose everything.

What I really would like to understand is:

• Do I have any chance to make it? I mean, is it a 100% suicide mission?

• if I mark a safe bookmark in each of the sectors along the way ( for quick warp ) am I going to increase my chances of survival? Or they just gonna lock me down without any chance of moving

• Should I avoid Autopilot and mark a bookmark close to any stargates? ( I didn’t fully understand this technique )

Thank you in advance for any valuable tips!