High-sec structures are they worth it?

I am an industrial pilot who likes to mine and build primarily I don’t engage in PVP to often though I do enjoy PVE to gather resources and isk to further invest in my industrial abilities. However, as far as I have seen despite all the benefits it is not worthwhile to invest in an engineering structure or a refinery in high-sec. True it offers a host of advantages such as ore compression and industrial advantages. What I have seen and read through makes me less inclined to invest in such a structure. It is more cost-effective and time-saving to mine and haul the ore or ice through multiple jumps to reach a trade hub or a neutral structure that offers the compression and refining capabilities at a cost-effective price.

As I have stated above I am not a primary PVP pilot I know how to fight to defend myself or my fleet and I will go down fighting but again it is not my main focus. If I was to invest several billion isk into a structure to make it easier to mine and build within high-sec I am opening myself up to war deckers who are looking to force my corporation into a war we are not interested in. I have had to sit through multiple wardecks docked in a station doing nothing because some corp or alliance is looking for an easy kill rather than actually fighting others who do want to fight.

So yes a structure offers many advantages to a primarily industrial small corp but is it worth it to try and anchor one in high-sec? or am I just missing some important information? really don’t want to invest a lot of money in one only to lose it or get constant wardecks on my corp.

I have been offline for a year due to RL drama and so I have been trying to catch back up on changes and I am just looking for some good advice and maybe some good answers.

1 Like