How does a poor man play Eve?

Hello all,

I’ve been playing eve on and off since I 2007. Off when I can’t afford it and on when I can.

Twitch Prime recently gave me 15 days of Omega for my account and it got me back into Eve. I was hoping to be able to Plex my account until I saw that plex is now 2 billion isk and that would be impossible to make in 15 days without Eve being a third job.

I want to play Eve, but cannot afford it; family food and shelter come first.

I’ve been watching for a while to try and see a subscription sale but I haven’t seen anything at all.

I’m not sure the economic situation in Iceland but I can tell you that here in America if you’re under 35 like I am it is very very very difficult to make anywhere near decent money.

So why is the price of subscription still so high? I am sure that there are tons of players who would love to return to Eve but simply cannot afford it.

And let’s be honest Alpha is a joke unless you are just learning the game.

Tl:Dr lower the price of subscriptions or do a subscription sale to bring more players into the game

Edit one thing I would love for Eve is for there to just be a buying price for the game. If I had sub every single year the last 12 years I have spent over $1,200 on this game, which is nuts. I wish I could just buy the full price game for $69. 99 or something and never have to pay for sub again.

2 Likes

Has the price changed in the US?

In the UK its been the same since forever afaik

The price is still the same as it was when I started playing 12 years ago

2 Likes

Start a humorous YouTube channel about trying to play EVE with no money. Don’t forget to set up a Patreon page.

3 Likes

CCP would have to create a gating system where you have to buy every new expansion in order to access it. Kinda kills the sanbox, imo.

2 Likes