I'm about this close to cancelling my sub: | |

I’m a newb and I’ve been trying to mine in 0.8 space in my venture. I’m aligned. I’m scanning. I have a shield booster and resistance. I’m dead before I can even react. 4th ship I’ve lost today. This is not fun when all I’m trying to do is relax and do some mining.

Maybe someone can tell me what I’m doing wrong.

This is NOT fun.

Edit: Btw, I find it interesting that I was never killed by these NPCs on the free account.

2 Likes

Then congrats, you’ve learned sooner than most that EVE Isn’t for you. If you don’t find it fun, don’t force yourself. You can be free of this mess and find something that you enjoy spending time on.

3 Likes

Biggest tank the venture ever has is speed.

Start getting skills up to fit T2 afterburner. Forget about flying aligned. Just target rock and orbit at 5 km with AB switched on. 10 km if mining lasers let you.

Do what you need, skills wise, to get both base speed and AB speed up.

As to being dead before you can react, put damage control in low slot. Then start thinking about defensive rigs - EM, thermal, core. Or, match rigs to type of damage your particular NPCs are using.

EDIT: eventually you are going to have to look at mid slots too; medium shield extender and limited adaptive invulnerability (both T1). All you are trying to do is survive long enough to run away. Just be aware that you might have to risk losing 2/3 more ships before you find out if this will work at your skill level - especially “speed tanking”. Depending on level/ type of NPC, it might not.

1 Like

you have done everythg wrong

1. you have written the wrong post: full of whining and complaining, threatening to unsub, because you lost your ship in a pvp game about spaceships with lasers. This is not “space mining online”
  2. you have written the wrong post since we don’t understand at all who killedyou, if it was npcs or gankers etc. You expect us to find the info by ourselves?