Linux Desktop is standardizing

Dear CCP,

The Linux desktop is becoming more standardized since Ubuntu decided to abandon the Unity/Mir combination and go for the GNOME desktop, and major distributions started adopting Wayland. The standard desktop stack for Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, Mint, and many others seems to be or soon going to involve Wayland and GNOME or some fork of GNOME.

Given these new developments, is there any discussions being had on improving support for EVE Online on Linux in the near term? Perhaps making it more official now that it will very likely become easier to support?

I am a software developer, I work on a Linux laptop. When I am travelling this is what I bring with me, and I would like to be able to play EVE Online without having to dual-boot. I know that many EVE Online players are also software developers, and among this demographic Linux desktops are pretty common.

Greetings, and thanks for the effort done so far to keep the unofficial version going, even if it doesn’t yet run on my Fedora 27 box with Wayland.

1 Like

Eve runs under Wine and CCP appears committed to maintaining that compatibility for the Linux and MacOS communities. Since it runs on the Mac and a number of Linux distributions, the problem is likely between your distribution and Wine. I doubt that CCP will ever invest in native support for Linux or Mac - too much effort, too little reward.

Good to know that Ubuntu finally gave up Unity. I don’t like Unity and Cinnamon, because they eat up so much cpu and memory when running applications. MATE and Xfce are much better in term of performance.