Linux Ubuntu + Steam + Proton = doesn't works

Hi everybody,

I’m using Ubuntu, then Steam + Proton (the last version) i could install EveOnline, and have the “PLAY’s” button. But when i’m clicking, nothing excpecting…
The game don’t launch.

Some help please ?
Thanks,
To you,

Linux isn’t an officially supported OS per EVE Support: System Requirements.

Could move this to the linux section though so the “right eyes” can see it

@ISD_Drew
@ISD_Traindriver

1 Like

Moved to Linux - EVE Online Forums

Whow not sure what exactly you expect with such a posting… at least some kind of error message dump would be helpful for experts.

As I am not a sufficient expert, I can only recommend to simply install Steam and run it over Steam. Works fine for me :slight_smile:

Hi,
Thanks for all your answers :slight_smile:
I’ll be gonne checking the Linux Forum.

Thanks you,
Best Regards

I’m running EvE successfully through Steam on Linux Mint on both my desktop and my laptop. Both are running it through Proton 5.0-10 using Dx11 settings.

The laptop worked pretty much out of the box.

The desktop has taken a little more work to get running, for reasons I don’t completely understand; I had to copy the launchdarkly pyd file from sisi to TQ (read this post: Client start exception after today update - steam [SOLVED] ), then add this to steam’s launch options: PROTON_LOG=1 %command%

After that EvE launched on the desktop with what I guess is a caching issue related to proton? I don’t know what the problem is, but my solution is to first try to open it under a more recent iteration of Proton, usually 7 or Experimental. That fails, then I switch back to 5.0-10 and it runs through a brief setup, purges a cache and then works just fine. Not an ideal solution, but a working one until I can figure out what’s actually going on and how to fix it.