Mining ship propulsions and fit

Hi there,

i’ve read it here and there but just wanted to make sure.
so Afterburners(10mn 100mn) have less limitations than Microwarpdrives(50mn 500)?
im fitting a medium sized miner ship,
50mn gives me more push but in the scenario where i get jumped,
there is a certain field or web that would disable my 50mn but not 10mn,
is that correct?

im quite new to pvp just trying to fit a porpois or something similar here,
2 stablizers usually allows me to warp with single gankers,
where i use my tank and drones to put up a fight when jumped by multiple smaller ships.

any inputs are welcome,
ty :slightly_smiling_face:

That is correct. Warp Scramblers prevent the activation of MWD.

Afterburners are easier to fit, but will give your ship less extra speed than a MWD.
MWD are a bit harder to fit, have significant penalties to your capacitor and sig radius, but make your ship go faster than with an afterburner.

Warp scramblers will turn off a MWD.

I would not fit propulsion modules to mining Barges, Barges (and Exhumers) are heavy and are tight on fitting space so a propulsion module either wouldn’t fit or it doesn’t have much effect. For mining frigates I like a 1mn afterburner that they can keep running all the time while orbiting a rock to reduce damage taken from NPC pirates.

The Porpoise is a surprisingly light hull (which allows it to jump through the smallest wormholes). As a side effect, medium sized propulsion modules (10mn AB, 50mn MWD) give it a much bigger boost to speed than to cruisers.

Where commonly ships are using a MWD for the ‘MWD cloak trick’ (look this trick up if you don’t know about it yet!), I found that the Porpoise can do the same with just an 10mn AB (and decent skills).

So if you want to fit a propulsion module to your Porpoise, I recommend you fit a 10mn AB.

Do you think a ZOR afterburner would help him?