Newbie feedback : Novice Plexes not Novice at all

Hi all,

I am far from being experienced but as a complete newbie here is what I think of novice outpost… as a complete newbie.

Novice plexes are not for novices at all. They are arenas for pvp experienced players looking for pvp within the frigate size of hulls. Which is a very good thing since it allows a competition between skills, both sides having frigates.

The problem is this arena is incompatible with learning the ropes as a newbie. There is no use : you will never meet T1 frigates only firetails, worms and other faction frigates. Even if you have a brawler and a kitting ship breaches right on top of you, he will kill you.

I read a few guides like https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SV_sWWIinoheBaGZgL2nUVJGYwnsNJqJ/view and got a lot of advices from my corp but in the end it’s useless. An old timer will outspeed you, outgun you : it doesn’t matter if you are scissor, rock or paper.

Talking with my victorious opponents ( this game has a great community ! ), their main advice was and is “you should have checked the zkillboard and run”

I know a lot of people advice newbies to fly in fleets, what I do, but it’s not the same thing since you rely on your teammates to do the job for you.

What would be nice for newbies is to have their own arenas where they suffer a defeat because with their T1 frigate with AC they forgot to orbit at 7K against a T1 frigate with blasters, where they win because with their T1 kiting frigate they used range control to keep distances against a scam/kite T1 frigate. And in mirror matches they gain the upper hand by overheating while the other didn’t think about it or by having thought a more coherent fit with the same money.

My humble suggestion :

1/ keep the current “novice” plex for experienced frig players but with another name