Npc miners joining Npc rats in hs

Have you ever think that a HS mining belt was safe as long you dont look for trouble from NPC miners fleet or goes in a hard site? well now you are wrong.

Happened to me a few day ago, i log on thinking i could spend some time mining in hs. (Manatirid) i have been a resident of the this system from quite a long time. i took the orca out, and when reaching the mining belt i got locked from what i believe were the normal rat spawn, the orca being as big fat and slow as alway, trying to move out will take long, so i drop my drones out, and to my supprise i could only notice that i started getting attacked from the NPC miners defence fleet.

As those who have tried they know, you will end up web and scramble and desperate to run away or defend. Making it short i lost like a 1.2 ~1.5 bil orca.

So now i wonder, what is worth the rebuilding an orca if the rats will kill it again? No way an orca can defend from those. i found it overkilled especially with the new update that apparately make npc miners either assist or voluntarily attacked you (i will like to have a confirmation on this one) depending on your standing.

Btw the npc miners were blood raider and yes i have a bad standing with them. Anyone got similar experience and thought on this?

1 Like

You were probably attacked by Rats from a FOB (Forward Operating Base) in the system. Blood Raiders are not known for running Mining Fleets. It’s a known fact that FOB rats are highly aggressive and with increasing in activity the longer it stays untouched. From the look on zkillboard you are far from the only victim.