Number of turrets and simultaneus firing

Hi, I’m new in Eve and drive a Tristan frigate for the moment, but I don’t understand a couple of things.

1. I only have 2 turret hardpoints but I saw another Tristan that have 2 turrets on each side instead of one like me, where’s the trick? It’s an omega player or what else?

2. I saw that Tristan fire concurrently with the same turrets on both sides, and also I often see lot of cruisers that fire concurrently, but my Tristan only fire with one turret at time (I have three 150mm railgun II e two neutron laser blasters II, but I only fire with one laser blaster at time, and one railgun at time). Again, why?

Whether your an Alpha or Omega makes no difference on the number of turrets a ship has. The Tristan has 3 high slots, only 2 of which are hardpoints for turrets, so you can only have 2 turrets on a Tristan no matter how much you pay. You could put a salvager or tractor beam on the 3rd slot which graphically can look like yet another turret but they wouldn’t fire of course.

Now graphically, when you install 1 turret, you will see 2 appear on your ship, one on each side. So when a Tristan has 2 turrets equipped you will see 4 total, 2 firing on one side, and 2 more on the other side that are inactive unless your enemy gets on the other side of your ship. Assuming both your turrets are identical they will fire at the same time, though graphically there may be a slight variation between them. If your turrets are not identical however, and you said you have both a blaster and a rail gun equipped, then they will most likely have different firing rates and won’t fire together.

Most players make certain that all their weapons are identical, mostly so that optimal range is the same for all of them, so you will generally see their weapons go off together (or at last very close to each other).

3 Likes