PI Question about routing

I’m a newb at this, so I followed the instructions on a Youtube video. I think I may be regretting it.

I set up my extractors to rout my Base Metal to both a Storage Unit, and Three Factories. The Factories also have two way routes to the Storage Unit. It’s been working great, and the Reactive Metals are piling up in the Storage Unit. So far, so good.

Now I’ve installed a launch pad to send the Reactive Metal to another planet, for the next step. I installed a link from the Storage Unit to the Launch pad, but I can’t get the metal to route from the Storage Unit to the Launchpad. I get the message I can’t set up a route from one storage to another. Nor can I drag/drop from anything to the Customs Center.

Where do I go from here, or what did I do wrong, and how can I fix it.

Yeah storage to storage is not available. You were correct on that.

1. You can always route direct from factory to launch pad but if it fills completely there is nowhere for product to go.
  2. The solution I use is to route from factory to storage. Then when I have time I just do a expedited transfer (there is an icon within the storage unit for this adjacent to the create route button) which is available once every 8 hours. You can expedite to your launch pad this way at your convenience. It is similar to drag and drop. First you select the storage which is holding the product then selecting expedited transfer. Just double tap the launchpad and a window should open. Then transfer what you want.
  3. Hope this helps
1 Like

I usually go extractor - storage - factory - launchpad

3 Likes

A good answer, one detail though (which is not always relevant)

The cool down on an expedited transfer is based on the volume transferred and the capacity of the links between the two locations. I think there’s a five minute minimum, but don’t quote me on that one.