Question: what will replace starbases when they are completely phased out?

New poster here!
I have been playing the game since 2016 and arrived soon after starbases were beginning to be phased out. Now i have a question about what will happen.

I understand why starbases are being phased out but sometimes starbases look to be cheaper than an athanor, also would be better for a temporary installation for short stays in wormholes or other such places.

Will a smaller station type be created or what?

Because from what i have seen, your average athanor is around 1bil isk to 2 bil, while a control tower and a storage area with a reprocessing array looked to be around 100m maximum.

So will there be a replacement for starbases or not?

1 Like

There is not intended to be a same cost replacement for the smallest pos.

Ah okay, was just curious if anything would be replacing them in the small station range. Because i like the idea of small temporary mining outposts and stuff instead of a full station.

I would not discount the possibility of a closer replacement. All Upwell structures are either medium, large, or extra large size. There is room to introduce ā€˜smallā€™ structures, but I am not aware of any details that they are being developed.

What CCP does will probably depend on the state of the game when they feel theyā€™d have time to implement such a thing. They have an ever changing list of priorities as problems arise and the situation changes.

Quite a few people have expressed interest or concern over the phase out of the POS, and Iā€™m fairly confident that weā€™ll have solid details by the time they decide to put them to bed for good.

It was a design goal to make player ā€œstationsā€ more expensive and also ensure you actually have to commit, when placing them (expensive rigs).

Check out the fanfest presentations, and I think there was a mention about possible future small structures at EvE down under.

Thank you i will look at the fanfest presentations