Road to flying recon?

Hello, I started playing a few days ago and I’m enjoying the game so far. I’ve been looking into flying recon ships like stealth bombers because I usually play Rogue classes in MMO games. What are some skills I should start with on that road and is there anything I should know about before I spend all my time perusing this one goal?

1 Like

Stealth bombers will generally attack as a group and there will be a fleet doctrine to make sure ships can fly and strike as a group for maximum effect.
https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Stealth_Bombers

Recons are a bit different. They are based on EW platforms with different stealth techniques - Combat recons have d-scan immunity while force recons can fit a covert cloak.
https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Recon_Ships_101

With any ship, you can right click, show info and check the requirements tab - which shows the skills needed to sit in the ship and how long it will take you to train them. The mastery tab shows recommended support skills. For T2 hulls, I recommend aiming for level 3 mastery before you deliberately put one in harms way. Fly cheap stuff until you have your core skills to a reasonable level.

4 Likes

There are no solo pwn ships in EVE. Each ship has some big weakness that can be countered by other ships.

Recons are a combination stealth-travel + jamming (crowd control) ship. They are NOT equivalent to rogues (stealth + burst DPS). Recons are usually group ships; you pop out of stealth and disable (jam) some key enemy, then the rest of your group takes the enemy fleet out. Recons are the nemeses of Remote-Repair Logistics ships (healers), because the remote repair relies on being able to target your friends to assist them, and the jamming can interfere with targeting or with the capacitor energy needed for repairs. Recons are vulnerable to heavy DPS ships; with all the jamming equipment, there may not be much room for shields / armor plates for defense.