Self-Sufficiency

(Alistair Atreides) #1

I’m interested in self-sufficiency, but I have never used industry before, barely mined, etd.

So, if I want to get self-sufficient, what do I need? How does someone go from visiting Jita and buying their stuff, to going to their base and making it themselves?

Is it impossible? Just too much capital investment into each supply line that you can’t possibly supply everything and make everything you would need (even in a very modest play style?)

Or is it completely possible, even within reach of a small corp?

Thanks!

(Sar'ran Zorn) #2

It’s possible, but pointless. The minerals are worth the same isk, whether you buy it or mine it - “self-sufficiency” is just roleplay speak for subbing out a lot of manhours for a little isk.

1 Like
(Alistair Atreides) #3

Well I don’t mean it rollplay, I wanted to know if it’s feasible to live in W-space without ever coming back to K-space…it’s hard to tell from the tutorials. For instance are there NPC stations to buy stuff from? Etc.

(Sar'ran Zorn) #4

“It’s possible, but pointless”

(Alistair Atreides) #5

Well if you have to do logistics in W-space, where do go? Does it HAVE to be K-space?

1 Like
(Daoden) #6

You can get ice from shattered WHs for fuel, but you will never be able to make T2 items without importing from k space

2 Likes
(Retribution atSubZero) #7

Jita trader, a few skills and some capital to start. Go through entire list of items look for stuff that moves and has a good profit.
100% safe good money. I know it’s modest but I made 70 mill on first night.

(Alistair Atreides) #8

Thanks, this helps me learn more about industry in general which isn’t why I made the thread only about W-space.

How difficult is it to get what you need, to build the base needed, to make even T1 boats?

(Retribution atSubZero) #9

My thing is I use 1 of the 3 slots as a jita trader and have my indy and pvp guy on the other slots, works well and gives you more to do.

(Alistair Atreides) #10