[SOLVED] Launcher suddenly broke; "Installer Error" on reinstall attempt

I’ve been playing EVE Online on my PC for several years with no issue. I am not infected with malware and have not done any software or hardware changes or new Windows Updates.

A couple of days ago I tried to launch EVE as normal. Nothing happened. Task manager showed the evelauncher.exe process, but nothing was happening at all. This seemed to be completely out of nowhere.

I tried clearing the cache and it didn’t help, so I uninstalled the game. When I tried to reinstall, the installation failed. I get this:

Installer Error
Error during installation process (com.ccpgames.eveonline): Execution failed (Unexpected exit code: 2359302): “comd /C wusa.exe C:\EVE\Windows6.1-KB3118401-x64.msu /quiet /norestart /log:wusalog.log”
Retry Ignore Cancel

Noticing KB3118401, I made sure I had that Windows Update. I even uninstalled and reinstalled KB3118401. Still getting the same error.

If I ignore the error, the game appears to install, but I end up in the same situation. I double click to open the launcher and nothing happens - the process just hangs in task manager, but nothing ever opens.

Any fixes or ideas would be great, because I’d really like to play EVE again without having to format my hard disk.

========

UPDATE: I suspect this is caused by my computer lacking some critical Windows update. I thought I had everything up to date but I don’t. I will keep trying to update my Windows installation; I hope that will fix the problem.

========

UPDATE 2: I have now installed all Windows Updates that the Windows Update utility offers to me and I’m still getting the same situation: The installer does install the KB3118401 update if my computer lacks it and goes through to 100% with no problem; if I already have KB3118401, that’s when it returns the error I transcribed above; in either case, once the installation is complete, the launcher will not open.