Speeding up skills training?

Hello everyone,
I am very new to EVE. IRL, my exams are coming up and with the new update released with plenty of new skills to train for alphas (Yay!!!), I was thinking I could buy some … eh … boosty thingies … and implanty thingies … so my skills can train faster since I will not be playing.

However, I have never used any of those nor do I really know if they even exist and what they do. Could anyone give me a short summary of what is what and what should I buy (and if its even worth it) ? Or maybe at least post a few links? My char is an alpha on a limited budget (300 mil).

Thanks!! :blush:

I wouldn’t bother with Implants at this stage of the game, the difference in training time is marginal unless you want to spend more than your budget just on learning implants.

Basically SP ticks into your head at a set rate (x per second or whatever) and you can install implants that increase this rate by a %. You have various Attribute points that also effect the trickle rate of SP, and if you look at a Skill’s Show Info window it will list 2 attributes that effect the skill training. So for instance most weaponry skills use Perception and Willpower. This means that to train weaponry skills at the maximum rate I want a high score for Perception and Willpower. Various implants give a certain bonus to these attributes with +1’s being cheapest and +5’s being the most expensive. You can also periodically remap your characters points, though these are finite and quite rare so be careful.

Here’s a quick quote from a Wiki that explains things well :

"Each attribute enhancing implant boosts a particular attribute, with some of the best (and rarest, and therefore most expensive) ones giving additional bonuses.

There are 5 “simple” implants for each slot: Limited (+1), Limited-Beta (+2), Basic (+3), Standard (+4), and Improved (+5).

Each slot enhances a different attribute as follows:

Slot 1 - Alpha - Ocular Filter: Perception