Suggestion: Agency Levelling Up

I’ve been playing Albion Online for a couple of months now, instead of playing Eve. Albion is a grind to level up, but it is a fun grind, because it’s full of agency. You have to play to level up; in Eve you level up (training) even when you’re not online, with very limited agency (an Alpha clone would only need to log in once a year to update their training queue). This is a good thing, Albion could take note, but agency in levelling up is also a good thing. So, I suggest that we get experience points for killing rats and players and completing missions etc that can be converted to skill points. This way, you still have your passive training, which is a great thing about eve, but you can play to speed it up. What do you reckon?

2 Likes

EVE would not be EVE without passive training. It is a core feature that comprises the very identity of EVE, that makes it distinct from other MMORPGs. Changing this feature is to change the very nature of EVE itself to the point that EVE is no longer EVE.

Also, you might want to rephrase your post as the way you use the word “agency” conflicts with what “Agency” means in EVE.

1 Like

I guess Skill Injectors does this, but no well imo. You play to earn the isk to buy skill injectors, but with so many other things you need to spend you isk on (ships, mods and ammo etc), it’s not a very efficient way of doing it.

Why?

This seems incredibly easy to abuse. I used to run several alt accounts, all doing nothing but killing NPCs for hours upon hours each day, for several months straight. I could also have used my alts and farmed them for “pvp” if I wanted.

I don’t see why we need to introduce a mechanic just because another game has it, especially if it can be so easily abused and gamed in EVE Online without providing and significant benefit.

1 Like

by agency, I mean the player having to do something in the game, as opposed to it happening passively.