The Horror of Elitist Capsuleers and What They've Stolen from the People

Once, I believed in fair trade, fair deals, and fair wages.

Once, I believed that the system would help those that needed it.

Once, I believed in the promise of the capsuleers, the most advanced and wealthy caste the New Eden cluster has ever produced, would do the things necessary to change our galaxy for the better.

I was wrong. In every imaginable way.

When @Angus_Thermopollye pulled me up from the slums of Gallente Prime and funded my education to achieve my capsuleer status, I thought this must be how all capsuleers are, benign demigods that wished to help those on the planets achieve greatness never before imagined.

My mentor laughed at me and nodded. “You’ll see,” he said.

And I did.

I was educated in psychiatry, primarily. I learned the ins and outs of the human mind. I graduated with top honors and I immediately sought to figure out a plan to help as many people as I could achieve what I had achieved. I wanted to be the helping hand that reached down from the heavens to lift those in most need up to the promised land.

I tried to help develop an organization that would benefit all that joined. NEMA would be my crowning achievement and I would be able to tell my mentor, finally, he was wrong. NEMA would return the resources to those in most need, non-capsuleers that suffered daily on the planets beneath them.

That day never came.

No matter the policy, no matter the call to work for the common good of the whole, the participating capsuleers and their corporations made it quite clear that they only sought profit and cared very little for the struggles of those that had not achieved pseudo-immortality.

And it fell apart. Infighting, agitators, and morally bankrupt capsuleers sought to seed the path to the ultimate end. Vying for power, hungry for control… I found myself disgusted.

Then, my mentor came to me and said, “There is another way.”