Thinking of returning to EVE for Indy

Gidday guys,

As the title says, I am thinking of giving EVE a go again after a few years away. However, what I read on the forums and elsewhere isn’t overly encouraging for me. You see, I am an indy player. That is what I enjoy, and scratches an itch that no other game has yet been able to reach. I do enjoy PvP, but I get my fill of that from other games. Not saying I need to avoid it entirely in EVE, but that is not what I come looking for.

What I enjoyed most was being able to go out and mine with my main and orca alt, and with other like-minded players as well. This was my down-time, and I found it incredibly relaxing. I am a resource geologist in RL, so mining holds an extra attraction that others might not have. Outside of that I enjoyed PI in lowsec, and then making various ammo and fuel types from some station trading and the like, and then hauling those items to a hub in my Charon. Invention and blueprint collecting and research was also attractive. Occasionally I would go and pew pew on some PVE missions.

The reason I like to play like this is that my life these days doesn’t allow me to commit to solid blocks of time online and I may need to bail at short notice (kids etc.). So joining roaming fleets or floating through low or null don’t work so well with that I have found. I have tried, and it just didn’t gel.

So that’s what I am looking at coming back for. I have attempted to follow all the changes that have happened to the game, but quite frankly there seem to be a lot so I thought it best to ask you more experienced players what you thought. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Rok.

1 Like

Times for manufacturing and (moon) mining in highsec are golden atm.

1 Like

I advise to run through this topic before you go out mining with a semi afk zen buddhist relaxed mindstate :slight_smile: