Unfair pricing

Hello everyone, there is an issue that has been bothering for a while now, so here goes nothing:

The prices for certain things on the store don’t quite match up depending on the region. For example item XXXX costs XXXX USD, while the same item costs YYYYY euro (which converts to XXXXX USD), see screenshots attached. From what I was told in a request for information to the support:

prices for the store are determined every few years and some currencies may fluctuate which may lead to some price differences over time

While this perfectly makes sense on an organisational level, for me as a european it feels more than slightly annoying having to pay more for the same thing. Especially considering that EU-regulations explicitly outlaw localised pricing from what I understand (I am not a lawyer after all):

As an EU national, a trader cannot charge you more when you buy a product or service just because of your nationality or country of residence.

Source: Unfair pricing - Your Europe

I understand that the whole topic is probably way more complex than it seems. Therefore I hereby ask for further clarification on this issue, and - if possible - a shorter interval for updating prices.

2 Likes

Care to share the screenshots of what you are referring to?

At first I assumed this was about in game marketing, that is solely player discretion on prices.

Out of game, I think there is other parameters that come into play for price differences.

The cost of plex 99.99$ is not even close to 99.99€

welcome to real economy, currency conversions are based on people willing to trade one currency for another, not the actual value of the currency. That value is based on the local economy. So if members in the EU are willing to pay X and someone in the US is willing to pay Y while some one in Chile are willing to pay Z that is what is going to determine the price in each region.