Video Essay: What Eve Online Taught Me About Capitalism and Myself

So, this is something of an autobiographical video at heart. I started playing Eve as a teenager way back in 2004 (hence the terrible character name) . The video discusses some of the early economic history of EVE - particularly the history of the early T2 BPO oligopolies. It also discusses a lot of the nuances of market interactions.

Beyond the game itself it also discusses Eve’s forums and their role in influencing the game’s development, and how I posted incessantly back in the day to defend my economic self interest. Anyway, I doubt many are even still around from those days, but I hope it provides an entertaining portal to the Eve Online of nearly two decades prior.

1 Like

Interesting perspective. Similarly I’m a leftie and also at times an Eve manufacturer & trader among other things.

Early on in my Eve journey I realised Eve is a mirror not of what we are but of what we are capable of. However just because the image is in front of us doesn’t mean we should accept it IRL.

EDIT: Question(s), does guilt drive philanthropy? What would philanthropy look like in Eve? What would be the most effective use of your wealth?

1 Like

It’s not hard to misuse the term when trying to associate with others, who, try to justify to marginalize those who actually brought good and benefit to this system to begin with.

It’s even more obvious when they inform a judge that they want to forfeit those rights to be of benefit to them, even though they are liable for trying to justify to cause the damage to society , arguably capitalist, or other, if due to military, to begin with.

It’s even more obvious when it’s 100% of the time that, and, even 109% of the time that, and misrepresented as justification to misrepresent it.