What do new players need in a corp?

Turning “New Citizens Q&A” a bit on its head here… I am a veteran player, relatively recently returned from a hiatus, and am looking to reboot/restart my old corporation as a PvP-centric faction warfare newbie-friendly corp. I am well aware of the mechanics of doing that, and have all the logistical resources available, but I’m not sure what new players actually need.

So, since I’m an out-of-touch crusty bittervet, and this place is frequented by both new players and those who are familiar with new players’ needs, what should I make sure to account for – given the objective of growing a faction warfare PvP community?

Materially: Loose ships/fittings? Ready-to-go ships? Skillbooks? Import services from major trade hubs? ISK stipends?

Non-materially: Guides/tutorials (on PvP, FW, skills, etc)? Explicit instructions or long-term ops?

3 Likes

I can only speak for myself, but what I’ve been trying to find (in order of importance):

1. Very frequent fleets
  2. Active chat
  3. Import services
  4. Instructional fleets/tutorials
  5. Flexible doctrines or ready-to-go ships
6 Likes

All you need is love.

4 Likes

That’s all I ask! Thanks for the input.

If experience serves, love is measured in rounds of Republic Fleet Phased Plasma S fired, right?

3 Likes

A good overview.
Basics of fw: complex, sentry gun, citadel, and system vulnerability mechanics.
An objective, short term and long term for corp, and for individuals.
Consistent presence, even if in a certain time zone.
Not losing ships for dumb reasons. Learning from mistakes. Not minding how often you have to repeat yourself.

Good diplomacy with the other fw sister corps.

What! That’s the entire point though! That’s how you learn.

Joking aside, thanks for the input!

1 Like

I should of put a semi colon after that sentence. :wink: it’s really tripping over the same foot that makes it awful instead of funny. Good luck and fly well.

Sounds like you are on the right track.