What does Autopilot do?

I just want to know how autopilot works. because I’m very new to the game. Thanks.

Use it when you want to see your ship explode…

2 Likes

I do not quite understand. if your ship exploded, I am sure you dont even need to pilot it.

wait you mean use it and your ship exploded?? w t f?

Pirates/gankers will see that you are auto-piloting and as you will be an easy target, destroy you…

Don’t use it…ever…

1 Like

When you plot a route to a destination (for example, by right clicking on a station and selecting ‘set destination’ in the context menu, the autopilot will automatically pilot your ship to that destination. It is similar to clicking on gates/the station and clicking ‘warp to’ with one key difference: Your ship will not warp to a range close enough to the gate or station to jump/dock immediately, but will definitely land some distance off and have to slowboat to the target. This gives people time to shoot you, if they want.

1 Like

If you set your destination to a different system or station, you can once in space engage the autopilot. It does the exact thing you expect it to do, automatically pilot you to your destination. However, it will warp you to 15 km of the next gate/station and slow boat to it which means:

It is much slower then manually flying

It is much more dangerous as you will be an easy target while in space

So tip: Don’t use it

it was reduced from 15km to 10km
https://www.eveonline.com/article/pyuth5/patch-notes-for-october-2019-release

Still it is WAY slower than manual piloting from gate to gate. And way more prone to gank.

3 Likes

https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Advanced_piloting_techniques#Autopilot

and… join a corp? …you will get answers to the numerous basic questions you ask

To be fair, I’m not sure you can levy too much judgement at the guy asking questions and looking for answers in the…you know…“New Citizens Q & A” forum. Seems appropriate.

1 Like