Autopilot Needs Attention

I have been playing Eve on and off for around 12 years now (mainly on) and the autopilot has always bugged me. I tried echoes out when it released and noticed that the autopilot would warp to zero, which was very very nice as you had the freedom to do other things inside Eve and out (for example Market trading or playing on another eve client) without having to constantly hit the warp and jump button.

I am writing this now as I am still not finished doing an R&D Datacore run again with 2 main characters which has required me to jump both characters over 300 jumps each including the agent missions required at each stop (I only do this once every 3 years as it is a massive chore for very little passive income).

It has taken me over 6 hours without using autopilot and I vow to never ever do an R&D run again! My main issue is that autopilot! If it dropped at zero I could’ve been concentrating on say playing Faction Warfare or doing project discovery or many of the other things to do in Eve and out, but I had to click every single jump.

I understand that there are players out there that hunt to gank players that autopilot because it’s a good opportunity for kills but, I feel it makes going places to do things in Eve, or to even just to explore a massive chore and I feel it is among the top 5 least exciting things to do in all games right now. I can’t honestly even recommend Eve (My most loved game) to anyone due to this as the travelling is something most pilots are doing 80% of time and it’s just not entertaining at all and you have to be glued to the screen.

I had a couple ideas pop into my head as I was trying to stay awake during my space journey though: