When and what was your first pvp encounter? And did you die horribly?

I’ll always remember my first time.

I had started only weeks before, had gotten a friend to start as well. We were on a ship/skillbook buying spree.

Being total noobs flying around Minmatar space, we set out to the closest hub: Rens
There I bought an executioner for quickly moving around while my friend bought a Ferox battlecruiser (that was before I turned into a pile of awesome).

Then came.the skillbooks…
Absolutely knowing nothing about the systems around, I decide that we should go to the closer "library"
Turns out, Amamake is the closest >_>
I tell my friend to go, since I’ll catch up easily.
I then hear the panic in his voice, he got tackled on the gate, by Vegas Mirage.

So I put it into overdrive, jump into system.
As I jump in, my friend pretty much pops to Vegas’ Daredevil (or Dramiel, I’ll have to look). While he finishes up on my pal, I agressed thinking I’ll be able to kill him… Oh how I was wrong.

I got smashed in a matter of seconds, but luckily I managed to escape in my then-empty pod.

It was a valuable lesson, and it gave me enough motivation to eventually try to do pvp.
As for my friend, well he quit because he didn’t want to risk his ships in pvp “because he wasn’t good enough” even tho he never tried…

Tl;Dr bought books in the wrong neighborhood, got smashed :smiley:

2 Likes

In my first week playing, I fell for a suspect baiter one jump from the starter system. I was clueless, but the loss encouraged me to dig into all the fine EvE mechanics …

1 Like

my first PvP encounter was in a WH… in a very very poorly fitted Magnate… before i knew i didnt need rig skills to fit rigs… and magnates dont make good gas huffers, and that you totally dont need salvagers on solo ships that cant kill anything(including rats)… and before i knew what a tank was… good times…
at the very least it was cheap! :smiley:

1 Like