Advice from a recent newbie

I started playing Eve in September 2017. I now have two Omega characters – this exploration-focused toon, and a trading alt. I play solo, because I don’t have the time or inclination to join a player corp.

I’ve learned a few things over that time that I rarely see covered in the player guides, and which might be helpful to new players. So here’s my two cents.

1. Everything in EVE has a learning curve.
There are very few activities in the game that are completely straightforward. There are a LOT of nuances to just about every interaction that aren’t obvious or explained very well. When you’re about to try something new, approach it carefully, and be prepared to make a lot of mistakes.

2. Start small.
Because of #1, don’t jump fully into a new activity before you’re confident you know what you’re doing.

When I first started exploring, I wanted to get into lowsec because it’s more profitable than highsec, but I was scared of it because I had no idea what would happen when I jumped through that orange gate.

So I outfitted a Probe with the cheapest exploration fit possible, didn’t bother arming or tanking it, and didn’t install any expensive implants. Total cost of that ship was about 1 million ISK. The idea was to have a ship so cheap I could lose a dozen and not care that much. Then I jumped into lowsec and began poking around. Over the course of a week or two I got a feel for how lowsec worked, and how I (as an Alpha character at the time) could survive and profit there. Only then did I invest in higher-grade gear and implants.

Same thing with station trading. I started out with small orders in various things as I tested different trading strategies. Lost money on some of them; made money on some. Learned how to tell what worked and what didn’t. Now my trading alt buys/sells billions of ISK worth of goods a day (profit is only a fraction of that, of course), working a market strategy that I honed through trial and error.