Ankh Lai for CSM 19 - A Revitalized New Player Experience

TL;DR;

I started playing EVE in 2021 after years of following the stories. I wanted to find my own stories but quickly found myself lost as a new player. After struggling through early missions and slow ISK generation, I ventured into PvP, got destroyed, and had no idea what to do next. A new player corporation reached out to me and I was able to learn PVP, fleet content and more. I eventually joined Goonswarm and became an Alliance Director in charge of Gooniversity, where I now help educate thousands of players.

As a candidate for CSM, I want to improve the New Player Experience (NPE) by focusing on community-driven support. I believe CCP doesn’t need to create an extensive tutorial, but rather enable new players to connect with the communities that will teach them.

If I find myself on the CSM, I will champion:

• Improve insurance to soften the blow of ship losses for new players.
  • Create better ISK generation opportunities for low-SP players.
  • Introduce more accessible Epic Arcs.
  • Enhance visibility for new player-friendly corporations.

Communities like EVE University, Spectre Fleet, Brave Newbies and Gooniversity are what keep new players engaged, and I want to make sure CCP makes it easier for new players to find these groups.

My story through EVE

I started playing EVE after reading articles about it for years. The earliest one I remember reading was about Chribba brokering Titan sales. The one that pushed me over the edge and made me join was reading about M2-, it was that story that made me download the game so I could pursue a role in future stories.