Ask about Citadel offensive rule

Surely I’m not a new character but I’m new to PvP.

In lowsec, I saw someone lighting up a cyno outside a citadel.

First question:
The icon of the citadel is a grep slash. Tooltip said “without docking permission”. Under my understanding I think it means I cannot dock the citadel but it also will not actively attack me (the red slash will). Am I right?

Second question:
If I attack him (not a good idea because someone may undock right now and enter the battle), will I provoke the citadel and be attacked?

Third question (somehow off-topic):
After I killed someone in lowsec, how do I know if he get a “kill right” off me? Because I still mainly play in highsec.

Regards,
Nadeko

besides, why I have neither suspect nor criminal timer after assaulting another player in lowsec?
I recalled when stealing can in highsec, I got a 15mins suspect timer.

pic

The color depends on your overview settings. The slash indicates no docking access, arrow indicates docking access. Red just means Terrible Standing or War Target, most likely.

The citadel will only attack if someone is manning it. It isn’t like a POS where the guns automatically fire even without someone manning them. Like you said, that doesn’t mean it’s a good idea to aggress someone on the citadel – and that requires them to be untethered.

If they turned their aggression mods on first then they would have gone suspect, and then when you turn on your aggression modules you would have a limited engagement timer (blue circle). If the person you aggressed had a security standing of -4.95 or below then anyone can freely engage them, including you. You don’t get a criminal timer in lowsec for aggressing someone, just go suspect (though gate/station guns will fire).

Thank you for your detail explanation. I feels like a rookie when I come to lowsec. I’ve been playing in HS for several years and seldom venture to Pochven or WH - where there is no rule to obey.