Cloaky Camper Idea

We can’t stop cloaky campers, and they provide content. We can, however, make their lives a little more risky and less worth the time.

If a person sits in a system for 20 minutes or longer cloaked, disable covert cyno modules. BLOPS would still be viable, as well as intel gathering, but it would reduce the lop-sided content a cloaky camper has. There is currently no defense from a cloaky camper with blops friends.
Disabling their covert cyno capability would force them to be active, or to move between multiple systems. This provides opportunity for content, and reduces the threat of a cloaky camper that has been there for weeks or months.
I’ve been pondering this for a while. I am a highsec pilot and I’ve been reading all the complaints about cloaky campers, and it invariably comes down to a shoulder shrug and trolling.

Don’t make terribad suggestions when you clearly don’t understand the consequences, nor how short 20 minutes really is.

P.S. Cloaky mega-thread is where this belongs

2 Likes

Fixed it for you.

Explain how it is a terribad suggestion please, other than “get gud”.

20 minutes is 20 minutes. If you can’t get a target in a single system within 20 minutes, you need to shove off. Sitting there for days/weeks/months mostly afk and only once in a great while taking an action is a terribad way to play eve.

You are fixing something that is not broken.

Describe the problem you are solving, being cloaked is not a problem, a cloaked ship can’t DO anything. So what if someone wants to waste their computer/electricity being AFK and cloaked?

The fact is my original response was the correct response.

The only thing a cloaked ship does is scare people who want to have the system to themselves.

You are approaching from the forum viewpoint of ‘Cloaking is used as AFK camping to hunt anom runners’ while ignoring the entire rest of the game.