Discussion of falling SP Farm Profitability

I’ve been operating a small SP farm for the past 6 months and I am questioning my choices as profits have gone negative.

Is there a reason for the low injector price compared to PLEX?

Do any of you folks SP farm for isk? How are you thinking about the price moves?

Too many farms around, maybe? Prices go down when supply is higher than demand. Now SP farmers compete for sales, this inevitably drive prices down.

Some players will leave this market and prices will go up. If I understand correctly, after initial setup, SP farm cost nothing except PLEX for Omega and MCT’s, so you can stop at any time and get back to it than prices will be better.

2 Likes

Cashing out tons of 900 mil mptc

1 Like

More and more people are realising that you can get Omega benefits (minus the SP) for approximately nothing by simply stripping your SP each month and selling them.

Most gankers I know do this. It’s an easy way to run ten accounts for a minimal cost.

It’s only been Rorquals being so powerful and rorqual mining so scaleable that meant that injectors remained as high as they have.

1 Like

This same trend happens every year. Farming gets super profitable so everyone and their dog buys into farmers. Market gets flooded by injectors , the summer sales hit which drives the prices down and eventually it catches up.

Then everyone and their dog sells out of their farms because they are no longer making easy isk. Some of the bigger more prepared farmers just survive on their giant stock pile or Plex and mptc and extractors that they horded during the sales so they really aren’t losing as much isk as the guy who pays month to month and is at the mercy of the market.

Give it a few months. Prices will bounce back, then everyone will buy back in.

Thanks for all the responses!