Feedback on Guardians Gala 2022

I started running the Guardians Gala event back in 2017 when it first debuted. That was the first time we saw Spirit SKINs in the universe. I’ve been playing EVE for 11 years and I’ve been part of Live Events since 2013 and Agency events since 2017, so I am drawing comparison between this present event and previous challenges such as other Guardians Galas, Operation: Permafrost, Winter Hexus, Crimson Harvest, and the latest Dr. Who event.

The following assessment and opinions are my own.

Day 9 Update:

New information provided by our pilots in the Events chat has led me to discover that the sites are revealed on the directional scanner and are revealed on the Overview only when a pilot warps to them first, much like the Dr. Who event. Likewise, the Agency Combat Anomalies tracker identifies Guardians Gala sites that are on the directional scanner as well as the Overview, and likewise detects combat sites that are several jumps away. I was unaware of both of these facts until late last night, and upon my usage of this knowledge, I was able to finish the event in 3 days of active participation in searching for and completing sites.

I will be amending my review as such.

My first attempt of this event on Day 1 resulted in my proceeding over 30 jumps without detecting a site on the Overview due to my lack of knowledge that the event was structured similarly to Dr. Who. Beacon sites are first revealed on the directional scanner, and the Agency Combat Anomalies feature revealing Guardians Gala sites helped immensely, saving me time, energy, and actually sparing me several headaches.

Once these facts were understood, I was able to better participate in this event. To my surprise on Day 9, the frequency of sites in high-sec was manageable and actually enjoyable. I was able to stay close to my main base and salvage the sites without needing to go 30 jumps away as I did on Day 1.