Gank Just For The Kill

So I’m fairly new to Eve Online,I’ve been playing for about 6 months now. I know about Ganking and “Don’t fly anything you can’t afford to lose”. My question is, why do gankers gank a 50 million isk ship in high sec. I understand a 500 million or more ship,but,come on. Is it ganking just for the kill? To get your characters name on the zkill boards? I’m completely confused. I got no bad will towards gankers or anything else in this game. I’m a big boy and if I don’t like it, I can quit. But, I do like. I just don’t understand the dynamics of ganking a 50,60,70 million isk ship that’s all.
Hope this comment/question doesn’t start a big dramatic thread. (I know some folks in this game are easily offended)
Anyway, I’d like to hear your responses…

1 Like

A lot do it just for the kicks, even if it does not make financial sense. Don’t let people getting a crossed hair bother you.

2 Likes

A gank ship can cost 1-2mil isk. If the loot you drop and the salvage from your wreck can be sold for more than that, they are making profit.

You also may have been doing something you shouldn’t have. Perhaps mining somewhere someone doesn’t want you to, or making and selling items someone doesn’t want you to.

The reasons for doing anything in this game are as varied as the players themselves. Ultimately, unless the person doing it tells you themselves, there isn’t much point in guessing why.

Instead focus on becoming more difficult to gank.

5 Likes

Oh no, it wasn’t me. I like to look at zkill boards and I noticed on there some of these ganked ships 50 -75 mil isk, being ganked. And the thing is, most of these lower value ships were being ganked by several ships. Not a 1-1 scenario,but, we’re talking 8 on 1. I just couldn’t wrap my mind around it. I guess maybe I might be too old…Here’s a for instance,zkillboard.com/kill/74501877/

The only thing most miners are guilty of is flying an untanked Procurer or watching Netflix.

1 Like