Generally, why I'm not getting back into eve

Hello.
I’ve been playing Eve since 2012. Not the oldest, but nearly 10 years speaks for itself. I’ve been on and off for a few years now. Graduated College, have a full time job, the works.

I decided to give Eve some time today, and I’d like to maybe give some feedback on why I’m still not feeing like getting back into the game, as well as seek feedback on those who feel the same.

So there I was, in my alpha clone in Amarr. I was browsing the new sleek character sheet and browsing events on the UI. As I did this I sigh. It’s the same. It’s the same game as in 2019, when I left. Sure there are some new skills under Spaceship Command, and the enemies got a paint job, but it’s the same same. I left this community because nothing changed with the underlying game. To come back and see that nothing still has changed, makes me sad.

In my opinion, the last great update to Eve Online was the Citadel update (and ensuing minor patches). The update which was game changing for all those in all Eve. There was no place where things were not changed. From Wormhole to Hisec. That’s not the majority of why this update was great. What made this update great is that it promoted player progression. No matter how good of a pilot you were, you can’t solo a (reasonable) citadel (multiboxing aside). If you wanted to interact with a citadel in many aspects, it is no simple task. There is a certain mastery one can achieve towards citadels which takes time and practice, even if some of it may be on a spreadsheet. Recent expansions do not have this.

For example, take the Edencom vs Triglavian expansions. It may look new, it may feel new, but the update is less new than you may think. Let’s go over a list as an example.

• Vorton projectors: good change. introduces new mechanics. Even if mildly niche, the content is welcome and affects the whole game.