Grim present, dark future

Greetings to all.

I will share my view on EVE.

I ask administrators not to transfer this article to other sections of the forum.

This article contains a lot of words, if after the second paragraph it’s hard for you to read not here :laughing:

Important! This is the view of a person who plays solo sometimes uses 2-3 accounts.
Let me start by saying that EVE is a unique game, there is no one like it in terms of player interaction with the game universe.

But the game has a number of mechanics and game design solutions that inevitably lead to an outflow of players. Which are superimposed on the world situation.

Taken together, this gives an extremely negative effect on the game, while, in my opinion, the “root of evil” is the mechanics of the game, and world problems make these trends more acute.
I will give a graph of the number of players.

It displays an objective picture of people’s interest in the game.

I have been playing since 2014 and I can describe the processes that I saw with my own eyes and try to find an explanation for them.

I will outline the problematic / repulsive moments of the game. Let’s separate the problems of game mechanics and economic policy.

• Let’s start with the easy-to-understand game mechanics:
    This is more of a conceptual feature of the game, namely the way to move from point A to point B.
    This can be done in two ways (I am considering the movement of the ship to a specific point in space, so the movement of WX / filaments is not considered in this paragraph).

Firstly, this is a passage through the gate, and secondly, the cyno.
And where is the problem here?

The answer is simple, moving the cyno requires a drive beacon, i.e. the second window and a small number of highly specialized ships (blackops / capitals) can do this.