How do you prevent burnout?

Hey everyone!

The title says it all. How do you prevent Burnout? I have been playing for a few years now on several characters and I’m at a stage where I’m not being challenged enough. I’ve been through several alliances, several wars (nullsec) and I’m looking for new play styles.

1 Like

I take regular breaks from the game, taking a few months off in the year helps to keep it fresh.

7 Likes

Well… Why not try to go further in s leadership/FC role? Build a corp up or join one and seek am active role in the corp.

1 Like

I generally play a game for 2-3 months then switch to another game for a while. In the ‘time off’ I might ignore the game completely, or I might just pop in a couple times a week to update PI, station orders, training queues etc.

Nothing says ‘play me’ like having some time off followed by the skills to fly a new ship, a couple billion ISK to fit it with, and an itch to blow something up with it.

I endorse Pix’s suggestion about breaks. I’ve taken 2 since 2013, and have always found it useful. You get to a point where everything you enjoy becomes old.

I mean it’s not as if we’re wedded to the damn game…Is it?

If Life seems meaningless without logging into EVE Online, then something else is awry.

Take a break of, say, a week. Baby steps…

2 Likes

The one great thing about EVE… You still gain skill points even if you aren’t grinding away.

6 Likes

The simple answer is to try to find another hobby outside of EVE, or try expanding who you socialize with outside of your current group of friends as that may help draw you to other aspects of the game you haven’t tried. But if you’re getting to the point in any game where you ever feel like burnout is kicking in it hints at the fact that you’ve likely spent too much time on that one game and should consider taking on a hobby or picking up another game so all your time isn’t focused on just that one thing.

3 Likes

take breaks as you need them.