I have bounty but am a noob who has never interacted with another player?

I am new to Eve, just have an Alpha account I started a few days ago. My play style is to buy and sell items within the same station, and also to make a bit hauling items I bought cheap in one station, and haul it to another and sell it for a profit. All high-sec, all near the home base where the game spawned me. I make a few million a day doing that, and otherwise mine a bit and make some isk doing the PvE missions.

I’ve never talked to anyone in the game, or fought another player or been ganked or anything like that.

How/why would I have a bounty, and how do I get rid of it? I’m not interested in fighting somebody or whatever this is about. I’m looking for a real chill carebear type game, and am about to drop this if it’s going to not be like that.

1 Like

I suspect troll… especially seeing your name, but as this is NC Q&A I’ll give it a serious answer.

Don’t worry about bounties, they do not change any game aggresion mechanics and so are meaningless (except as a badge of honour for some.)

If, however, you are looking for a “real chill carebear type game” then this certainly is not the game for you. People will shoot you whether you have a bounty or not.

4 Likes

CCP have neutered the bounty system so hard to prevent abuse (because players could bounty-hunt their own alts) that it is effectively non-existent. You will never have to worry about being hunted. All it does is make your portrait sexier.

Trevor has a point though. While you could try to play EVE as a “chill carebear” game, it is touted as a hardcore sandbox PvP game. The amount of chill you experience has a lot to do with your personal tolerance for loss.

2 Likes

Good pointers.