Is it possible to become a mercenary salvager?

I’m still fairly new to the game and recently saw the Noctis and read up on various things about salvaging and that it is apparently high in demand.

Is it possible and would it be sustainable if I trained my skills to offer out services to follow behind and do the tedious salvaging for people as a merc?

um, not really. Newbros can make decent money salvaging, but it just doesn’t have the same potential for growth that other careers have. I would recommend sticking with a salvaging destroyer, and spend your time training up another career.

Also, someone has started/restarted a salvaging service. You might want to check them out. However, you’ll probably be better off just asking around if you can salvage people’s sites (especially if you are in a player corp). A lot of people don’t bother with salvage (and generic mission loot), and will happily let you keep all of it.

2 Likes

Lol if you buy the no it’s you’ve just wasted 100 million use a catalyst

Thanks for the info! I’ll have a look into it.

Is there a resource available that helps me figure out where to find areas where missions might be commonly run so that I can ask around about the salvage? Or is there another way you’d recommend?

Besides its hefty investment, is there any reason you wouldn’t recommend upgrading into the Noctis? (I currently have a catalyst with its high slots filled with salvagers)

Is there a reason why the noctis would be just a money sink?

Does the increase to salvage speed and chance not help out with ‘higher ranked’ salvage from stronger enemies? or is it not enough for the investment you put into it? (And potential loss if someone ganks you)

The noctis is the best salvaging ship, but I question whether the return on investment is worth it.