Losing fighters with my Nid

I have been flying carriers for a couple of years, even had a Nyx before our corp moved. I had adjusted and learned how not to lose fighters (when the fighter change occurred) with my Thanny. Now I am flying a Nid and I am having a bad time with the Einherji fighters. I am losing about 1-2 per site.

Here is what I am doing: wrap in at 50, get things setup, launch. I select my target (frigates first), hit “W” so they orbit (set at 5000m), then F1 so they fight. When the target is destroyed, I select the next target, then “W” again, fire etc.

When I start taking damage, I return them to the launch bay. Sometimes I will lose them immediately, they go from brown to red to BOOM.

I have read the Carrier ratting guide(s) posted here, very informative, thought I was doing what was recommended.

Any tips??

1 Like

T1? I have no issues at all with T2 even in full wave aggro Forlorn Hubs or Gas Havens.

I am using both T1 and T2. No difference. I am certain I am missing something, just no clue what :slight_smile:

Judging from your description I don’t see it either. I use the same procedure and keeping the fighters orbiting is usually enough even if 4 elite cruisers hammer them. I can even leave them motionless between targets for a few seconds until the standard weapons stopped cycling and they don’t go instantly from yellow/orange to red.

Me thinks its about watching your aggro and your choice of aggro. What I do is not target the frigs … but target the battleships and alpha them off the field… one volley of missiles and a turret volley or two and they are gone. then on to the cruisers or battlecruisers… then the frigs…

seems like I am as usual ass backwards, or retarded… yea? well then why do I do it? :slight_smile: