Missile weapon upgrades question

Hey o7

Lets say i have 5 low slots on a missile boat.

Do i split them as:
3 BCU + 2 missile guidance enhancers

or

4 BCU + 1 missile guidance enhancer ?

For lights its a no brainer with 4 BCUs, but what about BC/T3C heavy missiles ?

I am no pro when it comes to missiles (even though I use them on my mission alt RIP), but if I fit that many I think I’d put guidance after the 4th one due to penalties, the more you got of the same the less effective the next same module will be

So i guess shoving guidance there would be better than penalised damage, since the guidance modules increase missile speed, explosion velocity and reduce explosion radius, which may not alter the damage value on a simulator but it will surely help

My Raven at the moment has 3 ballistics and one guidance. I prefer to use the last slot for something of utility, like a cap flux coil since I am active tank

Target Painter helps to make the targets…

… Help me, I love that meme

1 Like

if your shooting medium missiles at a small target
a 2nd guidance system will give more benefit than a 4th damage mod

when the target drops a size category you lose 80/90% of your effective dps which the guidance system helps to mitigate

Statistically speaking the 4th of any module is essentially a wasted slot. Many players me included will run them because of personal preference or because lazy and we have not bothered to look into other options, or because there is nothing else that we need or that works for us.

Here are the stacking penalties and an example of how they work.
1st mod: 100.0% effectiveness
2nd mod: 80% effectiveness
3rd mod: 57% effectiveness
4th mod: 28% effectiveness
5th mod: 10% effectiveness
6th mod: 3% effectiveness