My Experiences as a New Player

I have been playing for 5 months. I do not play a lot. Here is a brief summary of my experiences. I just thought this might be of general interest to brand new solo players like myself.

After finishing the tutorial I thought I would try exploring. So, I hopped onto one of the ships I had been given, maybe a Venture, and started flying into null sec spaces. On perhaps my second journey I got blown up by two player with 10+ years experience. At that point I decided maybe I would try a different approach.

Mining was easy and allowed me to make some money. Everywhere I read on the internet said to avoid mining. But I went ahead with it anyway. Eventually I got to where I could mine ice in high sec space. This was an easy way to make quite a bit of money. But it was very boring.

I read that exploration was a good way to make money. So, I created an alt to devote to exploration. I kept taking my ship into wormhole space and kept getting blown up. Tracking down data or relic sites in high sec space took quite a bit of time. There seems to be a lot of competition for them. All in all, I was losing money from the ships I was losing to NPC drones in the wormholes.

I read on the internet that I could make a lot of money if I ran level 4 missions. So, I trained my main toon to do that. After reaching level 4 mining missions I read that I would need a second account if I hoped to make much money that way. So, I set that aside.

I read that doing level 4 security missions was a really good way to make money. So, I got a battleship, a Dominix, and started doing those with sentry drones. I had almost no experience with fighting. I almost lost my ship on my first level 3 security mission. Then I discovered I was supposed to jump my ship when warping into a crown of hostiles. The next thing I learned was I was not supposed to jump my ship without first retrieving my drones because sentry drones do not move.