Need a little cash flow

Total noob here. Exploration is the one for me so I want to continue down that path. I am getting a good feel for the mechanics of the game from the tutorials. I am doing agent missions and so far so good. I do want to get out and make a little money, need to buy some skills and equipment.

Now, I understand the concept of: Do not fly a ship you cannot afford to lose. Well, I cannot afford to lose anything as I stand now so I am being very cautious till I build up a bankroll and can afford to get blown up a few times. So I have limited my exploring to high security areas.
Thing is I am finding nothing there worth any money. I do find a wormhole or two but I am not jumping down one of those any time soon.

Assuming I am properly scanning, should I at least find one or two things up in high security that will give me a little cash flow? The only time I can log on is about an hour or so before the servers are reset. I do not know if that makes any difference. Maybe high security has just been farmed out. How should I approach getting some cash with the least amount of risk? I really cannot afford to lose my only ship. Thanks.

I’ve never had good luck scanning in high-sec. When I explore I usually dip into a wormhole for better loot. Sometimes another player will kill me but in general I still make ISK faster then I do just scanning in high-sec. Since you’re just starting out I would recommend doing all the career agent missions as that will give you a decent influx of starting ISK and ships. As I remember you also get one of your races exploration frigates to use. If you happen to lose it and don’t have the ISK to replace it I would recommend doing some basic missions in a more combat oriented ship until you can afford to buy another exploration vessel (gonna be cheaper to buy then build unless you spend a lot of time building up your industry skills).

Buy PLEX, cash it in…

1 Like